Compass banner logos 2019



Winners Revealed

The winners were finally announced live at The Restaurant Show 2019 following an exciting competition. A huge congratulations to Chris Macleod, ESS, Compass Senior Chef of the Year. Sam Kent, RA, Compass Junior Chef of the Year. Finally, Miranda Cook, RA, Compass Apprentice Chef of the Year.


Compass Apprentice, Junior and Senior Chef of the Year 

Sponsored by: Aggora, Bunzl Lockhart,  Pritchitt’s foods, Kerry Foods, Vegetarian Express, Fresh Direct, Coca Cola UK, CCS and Churchill China

October will see the culmination of regional heats that have been conducted across the whole of the Compass UK & Ireland Business to find the very best Junior and Senior chefs, ten juniors and ten Senior chefs.

They will be creating dishes recognising British Produce whilst all the time reflecting current food trends and health and wellbeing at the Restaurant Show at Olympia London on Wednesday 2nd October, hoping to be crowned Junior or Senior Chef of The Year. With just 1.5 hours and 2 hours respectively to create a three and four course meal to a panel of respected industry judges

We will also see again this year, The Apprentice chef of the year, showcasing some of our apprentices, they will go head to head to create a single main course dish in just 40 minutes, profiling some of our newest and grass roots talent in this exciting arena

Thus, underpinning compasses commitment to developing our people, we are extremely proud of our culinary heritage actively encouraging all our chefs to have that competitive edge not just on the UK stage but also in the international arena.

Twitter address is @compassgroupuk


Senior Chef of the Year  
Neil Mulhearn Eurest
Chris Macleod Defence
David Bryant ESS
Grzegorz Niewiadomski  Compass Ireland
Andrew D’Amery  Levy
Wayne Lewis  Eurest
 Leon Witter   Healthcare
Jaroslaw Jastrzebski  Chartwells
Andy Bunting  RA
James Newton  Chartwells
Junior Chef of the Year   
Ryan Mallon  Defence
Ella Stiles   Defence
Paul Murphy Compass Ireland
Liam Fenn  Levy
Amy Maxwell  Ra
Hayleigh Whiteside  Levy
Katy Smith   Defence
Sunny Patel  Chartwells
Jonathon Gibbison  Defence
Apprentice Chef of the Year  
Alex Warway Healthcare
Daniel Dawson ESS Defence & Offshore
George Pulfer RA
Lewis Downing ESS Defence & Offshore
Miranda Cook RA
Natasha Hutchings ESS Defence & Offshore
Taome Jones ESS Defence
Gary West Ess Defence
Nathan Racey Levy