National Chef of the Year

National Chef of the Year

The National Chef of the Year 2014


The National Chef of the Year 2014

The National Chef of the Year competition, running since 1972, is one of the UK's most respected and sought after culinary titles, awarding the crème de la crème in the chef community. It has helped to launch the careers of some of industry’s most celebrated chefs, many with Michelin stars. Past winners include Gordon Ramsay, Mark Sargeant, David Everitt-Matthias, Lou Jones, Bruce Sangster, Simon Hulstone, Alyn Williams and the most recent winner Hayden Groves.

The final will take place on Tuesday 7th October from 1pm - 3pm in The Restaurant Show Competition Theatre.

View National Chef of the Year press releases here

2014 Finalists

Name Title Establishment Station
Andrew Gotting Executive Group Head Chef Galloping Gourmet, Worecestershire 1
Diane Camp (Kay) Development Chef Reynolds, Hertfordshire 2
Adam Handling Head Chef Caxton, London 3
Russell Bateman  Head Chef Colette's Restaurant, The Grove, Hertfordshire 4
Daniel Morgan Sous Chef The Square, Mayfair, London 5
Simon Webb Head Chef Restaurant Associates, London 6
Lahiru Jayasekara Head Chef The Manor at Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire 7
Nick Edgar Head Chef Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat Saisons, Oxfordshire 8


2014 Judges

Clare Smyth 
Philip Howard 
Brett Graham
Tom Kerridge 
Jason Atherton
Monica Galetti
Bruce Poole
Marcus Wareing 
Hideko Kawa
Julie Walsh 
Mark Sargeant
Sophie Michell
Christopher Basten
Alyn Williams 
Brian Turner CBE
Ben Tish
Gary Hunter 
Hayden Groves


    ACA logo


    Arena Logo


    Academy Logo


Farm Africa